My fictional town is very real*

* Winkler, West Virginia, the setting of the Mountain Women stories, has always been very real in my imagination, and hopefully also in the minds of those who follow the series. In the stories, the town has had three lives–first as a logging town (book 1), then a ghost town (books 2 and 3), and in the most recent stories (books 4-7), a booming coal town.

Here’s a map of the 1920 coal town by West Virginia artist Ken Kreider.


Coming soon: a map of Winkler in 1900, the logging town of the first book in the series, The Girl on the Mountain.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Are you a fool for love?

***I strongly suspect you are. For good or bad, aren’t we all?

Fools for Love is the seventh book in my Mountain Women series, now available in ebook from Here’s a bit about it: Fools.200x300,jpg

For May Rose, it’s a summer of challenge and loss. Wanda and her family move away, love triangles confound her friends, and a competitor threatens the success of the boardinghouse. Then even more urgent matters arise—menacing waters, a demented woman, and the reappearance of a dangerous man. Fools for Love is the seventh book in the Mountain Women Series, bringing to life the struggles, triumphs, friendships and loves of women in a small West Virginia town in the early 1900s.

Read the first chapter:

Get the ebook: 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

VOTE NOW for the winner of this week’s Six Word Story Challenge!

Which 6-word story seems all that’s needed to be said? A game…

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

vote, poll,survey,writing,sixwordstorychallenge,six word story,6 word story, challenge,blog challenge, writing challenge, writing prompt

Welcome to Thursday and the opening of the vote to decide the winner of the Six Word Story Challenge.

It’s Thursday so entries to this week’s Six Word Story Challenge are no longer being accepted. Now we vote!

View original post 142 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized